Press Note

Punjab State Inter-District Men's U-16 year's (Days) Tournament-2022-23.

The Punjab State Inter-District Men's U-16 years Tournament for 2022-23 started on 14th July 2022. The (Day-2) Matches were played at various District Headquarters and detailed results are as under:

Patiala (U-16) vs Mansa (U-16) – Match drawn - Mansa took first innings lead.

Patiala (U-16) vs Mansa (U-16) match was played at Mansa District cricket Ground, Mansa. Mansa won the toss and elected to field. Batting first Patiala was playing for 276 for no loss in 50 overs before the Day-1 stumps. Resuming Day-2, Patiala declared their first innings on 353 for 2 in 65 overs. Vihan Malhotra 227 off 190 with thirty-one boundaries and two sixes and Gurnoor Singh 83 off 160 with eight boundaries were the main run-getters for Patiala. Dev Gandhwal took one wicket and was the most successful wicket-taker for Mana.

In reply, Mansa bundled out for 46 in 28 overs in their first innings. Dev Gandhwal 21 off 53 with three boundaries was the main run-getters for Mansa. Vyom Chugh 5 for 14 and Khushmeet Singh 4 for 20 were the most successful wicket-takers for Patiala.

Mansa while chasing follow-on scored 32 for 3 in 26 overs. Harish unbeaten 13* off 38 was the main run getter for Mansa before the end of the day. Vyom Chugh 2 for 8 was the most successful wicket-taker for Patiala. With this, the match stands drawn and Patiala took the first innings lead and got 3 points while Mansa got 1 point.

Fatehgarh Sahib (U-16) vs Barnala (U-16) – Match drawn - Fatehgarh Sahib took first innings lead.

Fatehgarh Sahib (U-16) vs Barnala (U-16) match was played at Trident Cricket Ground, Barnala. Fatehgarh Sahib won the toss and elected to bat. Batting first Fatehgarh Sahib scored 360 for 4 in 90 overs.

Resuming day-2 from 40 runs, Barnala bundled out for 113 in 41 overs in their first innings. Komalveer Singh 48 off 100 with seven boundaries was the main run-getter for Barnala. Deepak Raj Singh 5 for 5 and Aryan Sharma 3 for 18 were the most successful wicket-takers for Fatehgarh Sahib.

Barnala while chasing follow-on has scored 188 for 6 in 65 overs in their second innings. Ashutosh Singh 59 off 125 with eleven boundaries and Komalveer Singh 43 off 80 with seven boundaries were the main run-getters for Barnala. Deepakraj Singh 2 for 47 and Krishna Arora 2 for 24 were the most successful wicket-takers for Fatehgarh Sahib. With this, the match stands drawn and Fatehgarh Sahib got 3 points while Barnala got 1 point.

Ludhiana (U-16) vs Nawanshahr (U-16) – Ludhiana won by an innings.

Ludhiana (U-16) vs Nawanshahr (U-16) match was played at Nawanshahr District cricket Ground, Nawanshahr. Ludhiana won the toss and opted to bat. Batting first Ludhiana has declared their innings first innings by 304 for 5 in 78 overs.

Resuming day-2 from 15 runs, Nawanshahr was bundled out for 40 in 34.3 overs in their first innings. Anmoljeet Singh 5 for 16 and Shivam Verma 3 for 6 were the most successful wickettakers for Ludhiana.

While chasing follow-on Nawanshahr was bowled out for 43 in 31.3 overs in their second innings. Udayveer Singh 16 off 41 with two boundaries was the main run-getter for Nawanshahr. Amnoljeet Singh 2 for 6, Shivam Verma 3 for 5, and Divyam Sharma 2 for 1 were the most successful wicket-takers for Ludhiana. With this, Ludhiana won the match by an innings and got 6 points plus one bonus point total of 7 points while Nawanshahr got 0 points.

Mohali (U-16) vs Ropar (U-16) – Match Drawn – Mohali took the first innings lead.

Mohali (U-16) vs Ropar (U-16) match was played at Ropar District Cricket Ground, Ropar. Mohali won the toss and elected to bat. Batting first Mohali bowled out for 265 in 85.1 overs.

Resuming day-2 from 43 runs, Ropar bundled out for 135 in 56.5 overs in their first innings. Jaskaran Singh 30 off 52 with two boundaries and one six was the main run getter for Ropar. Namitveer Singh 5 for 30, Jashandeep 3 for 30 and Tejas 2 for 33 were the most successful wickettakers for Mohali.

While chasing follow-on Ropar scored 88 for 4 in 37 overs in their second innings before the end of the game. Jaskaran Singh 46 off 33 with six boundaries and two sixes was the main run-getter for Ropar. Namitveer took 3 wickets for 37 runs and was the most successful wicket-taker for Mohali. With this, the match stands drawn, Mohali took the first innings lead and got 3 points while Ropar got 1 point.

Hoshiarpur (U-16) vs Amritsar (U-16) – Match Drawn - Amritsar took first innings lead.

Hoshiarpur (U-16) vs Amritsar (U-16) match was played at Gandhi Ground Amritsar. Hoshiarpur won the toss and elected to bat. Batting first Hoshiarpur was bowled out for 37 in 31.3 overs.

Resuming day-2 from 14 runs, Amritsar was playing on 39 with no loss of wickets in 11 overs in their first innings and very sudden rain started. Due to rain interruptions, the play could not resume till the end of the day. With this, the match stands drawn and Amritsar took the first innings lead and got 3 points while Hoshiarpur got 1 point.

Gurdaspur (U-16) vs Ferozepur (U-16) – Match Drawn - Ferozepur took first innings lead.

Gurdaspur (U-16) vs Ferozepur (U-16) match was played at Gurdaspur District Cricket Ground, Gurdaspur. Ferozepur won the toss and was elected to field. Batting first Gurdaspur bundled out for 72 in 24.5 overs. Shivang Shandil 19 off 41 with two boundaries was the highest run-getter for Ferozepur. Raghav Dhawan 6 for 26 and Manjinder Singh 2 for 9 were the most successful wickettakers for Gurdaspur.

In reply, Ferozepur bowled out for 77 in 27.4 overs in their first innings. Manjinder Singh 17 off 9 with four boundaries and Karunesh Tejpal 15 off 52 with two boundaries were the main rungetters for Ferozepur. Parth Kalia 9 for 18 was the most successful wicket-taker for Gurdaspur.

The match was interrupted due to rain and could not start on day-2. With this, the match was declared drawn. Ferozepur took the first innings lead and got 3 points while Gurdaspur got 1 point.

Fazilka (U-16) vs Moga (U-16) - Match Drawn - Moga took the first innings lead.

Fazilka (U-16) vs Moga (U-16) match was played at Moga District Cricket ground, Moga. Fazilka won the toss and elected to bat. Batting first Fazilka bundled out for 58 in 38 overs. Prathamjot Singh 6 for 14 and Harish Kumar 3 for 17 were the most successful wicket-takers for Moga.

In reply, Moga was playing on 219 for 3 in 55 overs. Sagar unbeaten 96* off 148 and Ravtej unbeaten 92* off 134 were the batters of Moga on the crease before the Day-1 stumps. Jasmandeep and Vishvas Bishnoi took one wicket each and were the most successful wicket takers for the Fazilka.

The match was interrupted due to rain and could not start on day-2. With this, the match was declared drawn. Moga took the first innings lead and got 3 points while Fazilka got 1 point.

Faridkot (U-16) vs Bathinda (U-16) – Match Draw-Bathinda took the first innings lead.

Faridkot (U-16) vs Bathinda (U-16) match was played at Bhatinda District cricket Ground, Bhatinda. Faridkot won the toss and opted t bat. Batting first Faridkot bundled out for 32 in 23.3 overs. Vansh Kamboj 4 for 4, Arman Thakur 3 for 11, and Lakshay Kansal 2 for 11 were the most successful wicket-takers for Bathinda.

In reply, Bathinda was playing on 202 for 9 in 64 overs. Karanveer Singh 44 off 128 with six boundaries and Suraj 38 off 58 with five boundaries were the main run-getters for Bathinda in their first innings. Rishab 5 for 58 and Khwab Grover 2 for 31 were the most successful wickettakers for Faridkot.

The match was interrupted due to rain and could not start on day-2. With this, the match was declared drawn. Bathinda took the first innings lead and got 3 points while Faridkot got 1 point.