PRESS NOTE

Subject: Rest of Punjab vs Winner Inter District U-19 Years One Day Tournament

The Mohali U-19 years team being Winners of the Inter District Under 19 years One Day Tournament qualified to play against the Rest of Punjab Under – 19 years team.

The match between Rest of Punjab & Mohali Under 19 years team was played today at PCA Cricket Stadium Mohali. RidhamSatyawan, the skipper of the Rest of Punjab won the toss and elected to field. The Mohali batsman started cautiously and lost Rushil Srivastava with score card reading 25. Afterward Mohali keep of losing wickets at regular intervals and at one stage were 104 for 4. Arayan Bhatia (67) and JaibirBhindhar steadied Mohali innings and were ably supported by Sanraj Singh who scored 23 not out. Mohali scored 230 for 7 in the allotted 50 overs.

The Rest of Punjab innings was restricted to 47 overs with target of 221 runs due to interruption created by quick showers.

The Rest of Punjab openers lost their first wicket at 48 runs when Vishavjot Singh was caught at the bowling of Harshdeep Singh. The Rest of Punjab batsman Karmanpreet (78) runs and Uday Partap (77) joint their hands & kept the score board ticking. The ROP lost their second wicket at 191 runs. Thereafter two quick wickets lost by Rest of Punjab at the score Board Reading 204. However the match was decided by this time and Manroop alongwith Jatin reached the target score in 45.2 overs.

The Rest of Punjab team won the trophy.

The Prize Distribution Function was graced by Mr. Surjit Rai, Joint Secretary and Mr. Deepak Sharma, CEO PCA. Mr. Surjit Rai awarded the Winners Trophy to Rest of Punjab Team. Mr. Deepak Sharma gave away the trophies to Mr. Bharti Vij and Mr. Navdeep Singh, Umpires of the match. Mr. Daljit Singh gave away the trophies to Mr. Birinder Singh Match Referee and Ms. Madhu Sanghi, Scorer.

Brief Scores:

Mohali 230 for 7 in 50 ovres.

Aryan Bhatia 67, JaiveerBhinder 40 and Sanraj Singh 23

Randeep Singh 2 for 28 and Uday Pratap 2 for 47

Rest of Punjab 222 for 6 in 45.2 overs. (Target 221 runs in 47 overs)

Karmanpreet Singh 78, Uday Pratap 77 and Vishavjot Singh 30

Harshdeep Singh 2 for 32 and Aryan Bhatia 2 for 40